top of page
  • Writer's pictureNasha Brown, JD

A Love Letter from the Queen of Introverts

Introvert (n): a person characterized by concern primarily with his or her own thoughts and feelings. To direct( the mind, one's interest, etc) partly to things within the self.


Introverts are often considered shy and socially awkward people who loathe crowds and loud music. Although this may be true for some members of the introvert community, this cannot be further from the truth for others, like me. I didn't know what an introvert was or that I was one until 2015 when I took my Mediation Training Course with Jocie Wurzburg and she gave us a personality test. I had always known that I didn't mind being alone, liked it even, and was a bookworm/tv/magazine/movie/ article junkie, and I felt better around others after I had some alone time to relax, relate, and release. Little did I know that these characteristics in conjunction with the need to go run and hide after getting a headache from being around others too long, the test results revealed to me a cold, hard fact about myself: I AM AN INTROVERT.


A light bulb went off.


No wonder I had to rest quietly and mindlessly after a long day of interactions!

No wonder I ran out of my jobs once my shifts were over, not simply because I was ready to go!

No wonder being around certain relatives who can talk from sun up to sundown made me feel suffocated and like I had an attitude problem when I just wanted a little solitude!


I realized why I had a love/ hate relationship with traveling, specifically airplanes and road trips. Because I hate packing and standing in line and driving more than 3 hours, but I love the inner peace I feel journeying alone. Odd as it may seem, I love being alone. I love my boyfriend and my friends and love ones and communities and tribes, but I love Nasha Lee Brown as well. Yes, I love being with my boyfriend, but he knows I am introverted and need a certain time to myself. He understands and respects me and I love him for that. My introversion definitely came with its fair share of misunderstandings early on in our relationship, but that's for another blog. What I will say is, COMMUNICATION IS KEY.


I love social gatherings, my sorority, my family and friends, so I'm definitely not the shy, socially awkward introvert. But I have been the one to dip off by myself for a second if I'm getting a little tired or arrive hella late because I was very comfortable enjoying whatever I had myself wrapped up in.


To my introverts: Love yourself and forgive yourself! I know the guilt you feel when you see the "Sorry I'm Late, I didn't want to come" shirts and have a strong urge to buy one, but don't because you don't want your people to be offended and stop inviting you to stuff. It's ok to be who you are! There is a lot we process mentally and emotionally and we need a little alone time every now and then to recharge, and that's ok.


To those who love introverts: We love you, I promise we do, just be a little patient with us. Sometimes we just can't listen to you at this moment because we have nothing to give. We will be back with you shortly, just give us some time.



Love,


The Queen of Introverts







25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page