top of page
  • Writer's pictureNasha Brown, JD

Am I the only One not ready to be Social just yet?!


As states and businesses reopen, my timeline is flooded with social gatherings, birthday parties and Memorial Day celebrations. I see beaches filled with people and airplanes packed to capacity. Each one of these instances give me pause and honestly, a tad bit of anxiety. Three months ago a world-wide pandemic was declared and the whole world basically shut the fuck down. Every commercial told me to "stay home" and only go out for essential items and maintain "social distancing" when I do. NOW, all of a sudden people are out gallivanting around (with no masks by the way) like Covid-19 never even existed.

Am I the only one not ready to resume regular outside activities?!

Am I the only one who feels anxious every time I see someone I know or even don't know post a picture out and about in a crowd like we are not still in a pandemic?!

Am I the only one who is not impressed by the non-declining transmission and death toll related to the virus?!

I am all for the Black Lives Matter Movement that is truly making a difference not only for my people but in the world. It's like a next level generation Civil Rights Movement, only Millennial style. So much change has been made in such a short time, it's almost unbelievable. 2020 is gonna be in the history books for sure. Kobe, a pandemic, a black Bachelor on ABC, AND a Black Lives Matter REVOLUTION in the first 6 month of the year! It's long overdue and I'm Black and I'm Proud. But back to the point, if you are out protesting, put on a damn mask, Please.

I understand that businesses and stores are opening back up and yes, the economy needs to run and people need to work. However, I do believe in safety and good sense first. Honestly, no shopping trip or social gathering is worth my LIFE. As a 30 year old African American woman with asthma, I am at the top of the food chain for a corona virus wipe out. And to be quite transparent, I just don't want that shit. I had the flu back in January and it was a very unpleasant experience. I survived though. And if the corona virus test is worse than the flu test, I really don't want that ish either. It was very uncomfortable. Pineapples.

True enough, some things are inevitable, and it may be in the cards for me to one day catch the rona, but if it's up to me, it won't be until there is room in the urgent care and a successful medication that can knock it out like Tamiflu knocked my flu out exists.

To each his own, but I'll be quarantined for the next couple months. And if you do see me, MASK ON. I know it's summertime and beautiful outside, but you won't catch me at any social gatherings anytime soon. Catch me on Zoom, how bout that??


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page